What went wrong against Mexican teams?

Discussion in 'MLS: General' started by USSoccer_Dude, Sep 2, 2002.

1. USSoccer_Dude

USSoccer_Dude New Member

Jul 13, 2002
    Tiburon, CA
    I've been comparing MLS and Mexican League teams for a few months now
    and I can honestly say I don't see Mexican sides holding any tactical, technical
    or athletic superiority over MLS clubs. I even think our soccer style is way more
    attractive than theirs.

So why did we sucked so bad against them in the TFC's Champions cup? Did our teams
    decided to place more emphasis in our league? Did our teams just happened to have bad
    games combined with injuries to key players? Over kill? Could it be that our team rosters
    are not big enough to play for two cups at once?

2. Lithium858

Lithium858 Member

Aug 11, 2002
    Baton Rouge
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    are those rhetorical questions?

3. The Creeper

The Creeper New Member

Jul 18, 2000
    Up in MA
    Kansas City beat Santos......

But rosters are too small.

4. anderson

anderson Member+

Feb 28, 2002
    Club:
    Houston Dynamo
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    You may want to check the CONCACAF forum. I think there are still a couple of threads over there discussing this tournament.

I'm not sure how well you can predict matchups between MLS and Mexican teams by watching them in league play. I think the officiating in the two leagues is so significantly different that it changes how teams can play in each league. Once they get to matchups involving a ref from a third country, teams may have to play differently from how they would play in their domestic league. (And the fact that Concacaf allows the linesmen to be locals only complicates matters.)