What is your history with the Rowdies?

Discussion in 'Tampa Bay Rowdies' started by mutinywxgirl, Aug 20, 2008.

1. mutinywxgirl

mutinywxgirl Moderator
    Staff Member

Apr 6, 1999
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Me? I grew up with them - literally. They came to my high school when I was a freshman (75) after I had been to a few games that incredible championship summer. They taught me the sport. They showed me passion that was dormant in me from my grandfather. They were like my big brothers. They were my family.

What about you?

2. kenntomasch

kenntomasch Member+

Sep 2, 1999
    Out West
    Club:
    FC Tampa Bay Rowdies
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    When I first became aware of sports at about 11 or 12, there was the Bucs (who were no good) and the Rowdies (who were very good). I lived and died with them, going to games at Tampa Stadium (and working in the parking lots and selling Cokes there) and even listening to Jack Harris on WFLA late at night, trying to figure out how to keep score of a game in Minnesota or something. Gutted in the back-to-back Soccer Bowl losses when I was 13 and 14.

Then I went away to college and the NASL folded. I saw an AISA game at the Bayfront in 86-87, and went to a game or two when they were in the ASL and Rodney was coaching. But real life intruded and by the time they died in 1993, I hadn't been really paying attention for a while.

But nostalgia takes hold eventually. I know this won't be exactly the same, but it's cool anyway.

3. Steve Holroyd

Steve Holroyd New Member

Apr 19, 2003
    New Jersey
    Club:
    --other--
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I booed them at Franklin Field in 1979 (vs. Fury)

And at Lions Stadium (Trenton, NJ) in 1990 (vs. Penn-Jersey Spirit).

Otherwise, I'm glad a storied franchise has returned.

Now if only the Cosmos were next... [ducks from Kenn's wrath]

4. gilmoreaz

gilmoreaz Member

Aug 19, 2003
    Peoria, Arizona