Weight Lifting in Season

Discussion in 'Player' started by Soccerfan010, Apr 20, 2013.

1. Soccerfan010

Soccerfan010 Member

Jan 14, 2013
    Should weight lifting be stopped during the season? Or should it be limited to just upper body?

2. RichardL

RichardL BigSoccer Supporter

May 2, 2001
    Berkshire
    Club:
    Reading FC
    Nat'l Team:
    England
    I can't say I'm an expert on the matter, but most top clubs have weights rooms for their players, so they don't stop during the season.

The key thing I suppose is that they use them to get toned rather than going for bulk.

3. ejgrownarseman

Jul 19, 2012
    Club:
    Seattle Sounders
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    You still need to lift (total body) or all your off season work is for not. However, you should go lighter with the goal of simply maintaining strength and muscle mass. No need to go too hard. Be sure to stretch immediately after your work out...I find that really helps cut down on recovery time. Make sure you're giving yourself enough time to recover before matches, particularly your legs.

4. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    No. No.
    Keep in mind three points--
    1. When you stop strength training altogether, your body loses fitness--it detrains. So at a minimum you want to do enough training to maintain your fitness level.
    2. Weight lifting is not the only type of strength training.
    3. Strength not only helps performance, but is also important for injury prevention. Specific needs are going to vary based on gender, age, and other factors. The more advanced the athlete, the more need for individualized training programs.

5. adam7879

adam7879 New Member

May 6, 2013
    well in my opinion you should continue weightlifting but concrentrate on the speed not the power

6. ejgrownarseman

Jul 19, 2012
    Club:
    Seattle Sounders
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    This is incredibly vague and doesn't make any sense in regards to lifting weights.

7. dejansavicevic10