WCQ: Nov 17. Belgium vs. Serbia Montenegro [RESULT]

Discussion in 'Belgium' started by Kansassoccer, Nov 2, 2004.

1. Kansassoccer

Kansassoccer Red Card

Aug 6, 2004
    Laguana Beach
    Currently, the Standings in group 7 are
    Gp. Pts.
    Serbia 3 7
    Lituania 3 5
    Spain 3 5
    Bosnia 2 2
    Belgium 2 1
    San Marino 3 0
    Belgium has a pivotal game agaisnt Serbia and Montengro to see if they can get into a spot to at least challnege for a playoff, even though they do have a game in hand. Now I'm new to European qualifying but it does seem as though Belgium has a realistic chance to get to at least a playoff berth. Who do you guys think the starting eleven will contain with the loss of Deflandre and Goor and who takes the captains band?

2. Power_of_foot

Power_of_foot Red Card

May 28, 2004
    Re: WCQ: Nov 17. Belgium vs. Serbia Montenegro

Go Go Belgium

3. tomo

tomo New Member

May 25, 2004
    ANTWERP, BELGIUM

I believe we've already wasted our chances for qualification against Lithuania. Luckily Spain also drawed against them so the result is not too bad after all. If we can win against S-M we indeed have a fair chance for qualification. This is what I think will be the starting 11, in a 4-4-2:

Goal: Erwin Lemmens (Espanyol)

with De Vlieger out, Peersman (Anderlecht) underachieving and Proto (La Louviere) still too unexperienced, I believe Antheunis will choose fully for Lemmens this time (the first time).

Right back: This was Deflandre's position and his absence leaves a gap. IMO the best right back we have is Hans Cornelis (Club Brugge), but he has little experience and never even had a call up. His contestor for the right back at Club Brugge, Olivier Deschacht has more experience, but didn't have too much play time lately. Stijn Vreven (Vitesse) is a story that has ended so I think the only reasonable option would be to put Anthony Van den Borre (Anderlecht) in. Minor point is that the guy is only 17.