Watch party or lack thereof

Discussion in 'Sporting Kansas City' started by KC Salty, Apr 28, 2007.

1. KC Salty

KC Salty Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I'm breaking a rule I imposed on myself back when I was a BigSoccer newbie, namely don't post angry. Because believe me, I'm angry right now. Why? Follow along as I try to explain without going off (no guarantees).

On Tuesday, April 24 I received a Wizards Weekly Update e-mail from the club that said this:

Wizards @ Toronto FC Watch Parties
    Saturday, April 28; Kickoff at 11:30 AM (HDNet)
    810 Zones

Can't make the road trip? Each televised away match will be shown live at both 810 Zone locations,4800 W. 119th Street in Leawood and 4686 Broadway on the Plaza.

Now, I went to the 810 Zone in Leawood a few times last season. I never got a seat, sometimes didn't get sound for the game, and the food and service was average at best. I made up my mind that I would not return to the Leawood 810 last season. No sweat off my back as Coach's was closer to my midtown address.

For the inaugural Jimmy Conrad radio show I went to the Plaza 810 Zone. I got a seat but could not hear the show. Oh well, I chalk it up to being the first show and all the kinks haven't been worked out.

So last week I go to Coach's to see KC @ Chicago on HDNet. Decent crowd, decent service (split the check at a shared table without my asking), good beer and good wings. I'm pleased with the experience even though the Wizards lost.

But this week I receive the above e-mail. Then I read the following in the Coach's thread.

So I'm thinking to myself, the Plaza 810 Zone is really close to my midtown address. It sounds like the 810 Zones are paying to have watch parties. It sounds like the Cauldron is going to be there in force. So I say, I'll give it a chance even though I was pleased at Coach's last week.