U11s and passing

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Metro, Sep 3, 2002.

1. Metro

Metro New Member

Feb 9, 2001
    Dallas
    Are U11s too young to teach basic skills?

I'm an assitant coach for u11 boys. None of them know how to pass the ball properly, yet all of them think they do because they have done passing drills in the past. It hit home when my girlfriend's son said I am teaching them things they already know.

Should I worry about if they pass correctly or not, or just let them pass the ball whatever way they feel comfortable even if it is wrong?

BTW, one of them crosses his feet after a pass or shot and many of the other kids toe-punch.

2. wunderkid

wunderkid New Member

Mar 17, 2000
    Chicago
    I am no coach, but the fundamentals are important for any sport. Plus you need to knock these cocky SOBS down to earth.

3. fernb8

fernb8 Member+
    Staff Member

Aug 12, 2002
    please teach them to pass the ball properly. They are at a very important age for development, they are not going to be so cocky when an U14 coach cuts/benches them because they cant even pass the ball properly.

Try to find some players (preferably ones with decent skills and good fundamentals) from a local high school or college and have them come to one of your practices and demonstrate (and talk) to your kids about the importance of learning and practicing the basics. Perhaps this will get through to some of your players.

4. NYfutbolfan

NYfutbolfan Member

Dec 17, 2000
    LI, NY
    Teaching proper skills is probably the most important thing that you can do to help them. If they already have some bad habits it is going to be difficult to get them to change, but they won't be able to keep playing with faulty fundamentals as they get older (by and large).