Thoughts on new Online Licensing Center

Discussion in 'Coach' started by tsun23, Feb 22, 2015.

?

Is this the right move for US Soccer Coaching

1. Yes

1 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. No

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. tsun23

tsun23 Member

May 10, 2014
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    So I'm a Grade 8 referee but I also am thinking of coaching and was pleasantly surprised at this
    https://dcc.ussoccer.com/courses/home/
    So it looks now that soon you get an A license online. While that's great as now I wouldn't have to travel to somewhere I sort of am 50/50 because now you don't go on a field and see things for yourself. So what do you guys "the Pros" think about this

rca2 repped this.
  2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    Wow! This is very new. Yes it is the right move, but hard to believe they will actually do it. The F license wasn't "converted" to on-line. It didn't exist before. So there is no controversy. In the past USSF has used on-line education for special topics and preliminary or supplemental matters related to its courses. I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for the elimination of the residency portion of the A license course. I can think of a number of legitimate reasons why I wouldn't eliminate the residency portions for the A & B licenses. And for the C license, I would probably want a one-day test session.

I have taken many on-line courses on many subjects over the years. Sometimes they are effective and sometimes they are appalling.