Studying abroad

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by Danners9, Sep 6, 2005.

1. Danners9

Danners9 New Member

Aug 7, 2003
    Drunken Clam, Quahog
    Hi there, i'm a student in England at the moment about to go into my final year and really fancy the idea of doing a Masters programme in either Canada or the States.

Does anyone have any experiences of how 'easy' the immigration side of things is? How long student visas last, funding and that sort of thing.

The application and acceptance is something i'd have to decide and deal with myself, but if it's a no-go then there's not much point looking into it if you see what i mean.

2. soccernutter

soccernutter Moderator
    Staff Member

Tottenham Hotspur
    Aug 22, 2001
    Near the mountains.
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Easy?!?!

I know several international students, and there are a variety issues that come up, most depending on what you are studying. For you, I suspect the visa will be much of a non-issue, unless you are not an EU citizen.

Also, a big word at US Universities is "diversity." Unless you are applying to Harvard or Yale Medical or Law schools, I suspect that acceptance will not be much of an issue.

3. Danners9

Danners9 New Member

Aug 7, 2003
    Drunken Clam, Quahog
    I am very much an EU citizen. They seem to accept you if you can prove you'll be able to afford the tuition fees and have a valid decent passport, from what i have gathered so far.

4. JohnW

JohnW Member

Apr 27, 2001
    St. Paul
    A lot also depends on the department and the university.

Either way, any college large enough to offer a master's program will have a person or persons who can help you navigate the visa issues. Contact the graduate admissions office, and they can direct you to the specific person.