Soccer Periodicals

Discussion in 'Soccer in the USA' started by PasadenaBlitz, Nov 10, 2004.

1. PasadenaBlitz

PasadenaBlitz New Member

Mar 17, 2003
    My grandmother wants to get me a magazine subscription for Christmas. Last year she gave me Reader's Digest (ohboy), but this year she's letting me choose. I was curious if there were any weekly or monthly soccer magazines out there. I don't know of any, but I haven't looked at magazines for about 10 years. Any leads would be helpful.

Thanks, and mods, move this if it's in the wrong place.

2. capitalist

capitalist New Member

Nov 13, 2004
  3. SABuffalo786

SABuffalo786 New Member

May 18, 2002
    Buffalo, New York
    Well, FourFourTwo in terms of sheer quality is the best out there right now. But you have to be a big fan of the British game to really appreciate it. I got a subscription back in 01, and decided not to renew when I moved down here. Superb articles, but I just haven't been into as I was back then.

Soccer America is great, but isn't as half as indepth as FourFourTwo is. Websites like Bigsoccer have pretty much made it redundant for hardcore fans like us, but it's nice to see a quality bi-weekly devoted to US Soccer.

World Soccer is the most comprehensive rag out there. Covers nearly every single league on the planet with extensive tables and statistics along with FourFourTwo calibre writing.

Those are pretty much the big 3 you'll find at places like Borders, Barnes and Noble, etc. There are other, less well known titles like The Soccer Post and 90 Minutes, which also cover the American game. 90 really doesn't have a set distribution schedule, though. It seems to fluctuate between monthly and seasonal.

Oh yeah, and a poster here named Andy Mead runs his own Fanzine out of North Carolina called the Emerald City Gazzette, but I don't know if he's still doing it.

4. SueB

SueB New Member

Mar 23, 1999
    Waterbury, VT