Section 127: Songs and Cheers

Discussion in 'Colorado Rapids' started by Soccerholic, Apr 10, 2003.

1. Soccerholic

Soccerholic New Member

Mar 6, 2001
    Mile High
    I'm new to the Supporters' Section in Colorado, but I have attended several games for the Nats in the Sams Army Section, including last year in Korea. I was wondering what songs and cheers people have done in the past and what people would like to do in the future. It seems that the better organized we are, the better chance we have at getting a lot of people singing.

Again, I say this as someone who has seen the Rapids quite a few times, but has not sat in the Supporters' Section. I'm not commenting on how well or poorly it's been done in the past, as I'm not in a position to say. But rather I thought that a thread on songs might help us to get some idea on what might go over well and what might be a dud. There's no use starting a song if people don't know it or don't want to sing it.

Some thoughts:

At the England games, if the team is up by a few goals, they start singing about the opposition "Are they Scotland in disguise?" (We started out singing "Are they Spanish in disguise" to Portugal, but changed it to "Are they Saudis" when the US was up 3-0:D ) I was thinking we could sing "Are they Tampa in disguise?"

The old standby (which I'm sure some people are sick of): Ole, Ole, Ole.

The Florida State War Chant. (Yeah, it has nothing to do with the Rapids, but it has nothing to do with US Soccer either, and it was the song that was the loudest throughout the stadium.)

I don't know the tune to this song, but at the US games we would sing a chourus of "Oh's" ending with USA! We could easily substitute "Go Rapids!" at the end. Of course, this would make a lot more sense if I actually knew the name of the song. I'm sure that anyone who's been in Sams Army will know this one. Anyone know the song I'm talking about?