Recent supreme court ruling regarding restraining orders

Discussion in 'Politics & Current Events' started by DJPoopypants, Jun 28, 2005.

1. DJPoopypants

DJPoopypants New Member

Ok, I'm no lawyer here, but sometimes enjoy seeing reasonable (and unreasonable) debate on legal matters.

So what gives with the SC ruling that the lady can't hold the cops responsible for not enforcing her restraining order (which led to the death of her kids)?

I'm confused. Is that saying we cannot hold the cops responsible for not doing their jobs - or was the legal argument used just a really bad one?

2. yossarian

yossarian Moderator
    Staff Member

Jun 16, 1999
    Big City Blinking
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I have not read Ms. Gonzales original complaint so I'm not sure if she attempted to hold the Castle Rock police department liable for negligence under state law. I would not see any reason why she would be precluded from attempting to do so.

In this case, however, what the Supreme Court was ruling on was whether the restraining order gave Gonzales a due process claim under the 14th Amendment in a situation where that restraining order was not being enforced. The issue is a very technical one but I think the Supreme Court got it right when they ruled that she did not.