Question: Penalty kick rebounds

Discussion in 'The Beautiful Game' started by LordRobin, Sep 1, 2007.

  1. LordRobin

    LordRobin Member+

    Sep 1, 2006
    Akron, OH
    Cleveland C. S.
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I was watching AC Milan beat Sevilla today and watched Kaka head the rebound from his own penalty kick into the net. I may be nuts, but I could've sworn that there was a rule that a player taking a penalty can't score off his own rebound. Any idea how I came up with that? Did that used to be the rule? Am I thinking of penalty kick shootouts? Confusing it with another sport (like indoor soccer)? I find it hard to believe I just made it up on my own...

  2. lolio

    lolio New Member

    Mar 9, 2007
    The rule is that the same player can't touch the ball 2 times consecutively.

    Posts don't count as a touch, so if the ball hits the post the player who kicked the penalty can't score directly (but a teammate can).

    Kaka hit Palop, not the post, so he didn't touch the ball twice consecutively.
  3. Teso Dos Bichos

    Teso Dos Bichos Red Card

    Sep 2, 2004
    Purged by RvN
    You are confusing shoot outs with penalties in normal play.

Share This Page