PK Call Question

Discussion in 'Referee' started by BTFOOM, Jun 12, 2021.

1. BTFOOM

BTFOOM Member+

Apr 5, 2004
    MD, USA
    Club:
    FC Bayern München
    Hi Folks
    Many of you will not know me, but I used to post here quite frequently. I am a coach and like to ask referees questions so I can be cognizant of the current laws and how the are applied. My questions are not meant to be traps or loaded questions but just honest requests for proper information.

We had a match recently where my striker was on clearly fouled in the penalty area. The defender struck him from the side and did not play the ball at all. After the foul, the ball went into the center of the penalty area where my other striker and another defender collided and the ball went out off the defender's leg.

The referee had his whistle in his mouth, but called a corner kick - using his arms to indicate playing advantage.

My question to you: Is there any real advantage (other than a quick goal) where a PK is not the call given? I( know you were not there, but based on my descriptions, I'd just like to know.

I appreciate any responses and will not argue with any of you - though I may ask more questions. I just want to be a more informed coach.

Thanks
    Tom

dadman repped this.
  2. Law5

Law5 Member+

Mar 24, 2005
    Beaverton OR
    Did the advantage 'materialize' within a few seconds?

BTFOOM repped this.
  3. Rufusabc

Rufusabc Member+

May 27, 2004
    As described, to me, that’s a penalty.

IASocFan and BTFOOM repped this.
  4. Bubba Atlanta

Bubba Atlanta Member+

Mar 2, 2012
    Yep, Atlanta
    Club:
    Atlanta United FC
    #4 Bubba Atlanta, Jun 13, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2021
    Welcome back Tom, good to see you.

As described, that sounds like a clear penalty where the ref simply chickened out or had a brain fart. But, as you say, you had to be there.

But as for your more general question: