Parents as coaches

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by masoccerscout, Jan 27, 2006.

1. masoccerscout

masoccerscout Member

Nov 5, 2005
    Springfield, MA.
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    We all know that many youth soccer clubs could not function without parents as coaches, especially at the younger age groups. However we all have heard the many complaints about parents that coach soccer also. Good, bad, what are your thoughts and expereinces with parents as coaches?

2. VOwithwater

VOwithwater New Member

Oct 17, 2005
    Was the parent a player?

Does the parent know how to teach skill work.

Does the parent love the game and can pass that love of game to the player it can be contagious..

Does the parent have coaching licenses.

If he has they make super great coaches.

Lastly don't let the parent do his own kids.

-------------

I was a parent coach I coached my first team in 1970 while I was still an adult club player. Had mu first child in 1974.

A parent in my humble oppionion can make you a better coach for kids. Because you know what the kid is feeling as a person and not just as a player.

I think if you have the experiuence plus the other experience I mentioned you could be a super coach.

3. HiFi

HiFi New Member

Nov 2, 2004
    It really depends on the level of play that the parent is involved in.

For recreation town/travel soccer, a parent who has played the game, has an entry level license, and a willingness to learn how to do some drills with the kids and keep a fun atmosphere is great.