throw-in by player x, her side of the field. attacker y is in an offside position. thrower x throws to receiver x, who accidentally deflects the ball backwards toward offside y. y is charged with being offside. is this correct? i thought y should only be charged if ball was passed by a teammate. the line judge who called the offside, when asked who touched the ball back to y, an x or a y, could not recall. asked the center after the game and he did not know either--both were obviously focused on the offside player not on whether the sequence warranted the call. thanks in advance.