Keeper takes ball into box and handles

Discussion in 'Referee' started by monop_poly, Oct 12, 2003.

  1. monop_poly

    monop_poly Member

    May 17, 2002
    OK. This should be an easy one for the refs out there. It's been awhile since I reffed.

    Situation: Team A player plays long ball to edge of Team B box parallelling the sideline. Keeper for Team B goes outside penalty area and with his feet carries it back into the area, then picks up the ball.

    Ref blows whistle and rules indirect free kick and if it were a handling of a back pass, even though no other Team A player touched the ball. I thought this was a legal play. What's the answer?

    thx in advance.
  2. rcleopard

    rcleopard New Member

    Aug 26, 2003
    Clean play. The ref probably thought the GK's own teammate played it back or something...

  3. Statesman

    Statesman New Member

    Sep 16, 2001
    The name says it all
    This is only an offense in indoor soccer. What the keeper can't do is handle the ball inside the penalty area, play it to the outside, then bring it back in and pick it back up. Nothing says the keeper can't bring the ball in and pick it up -- in fact this is quite common. Shame on the ref!
  4. monop_poly

    monop_poly Member

    May 17, 2002
    He was a kid doing a U-10 game (though pretty high level U-10). On the situation you mention, is the violation because the keeper violates the 6-second rule or has "released ball from his possession," then touches again with his hands? For guidance, all I have is Law 12 of LOTG. What is used for more specific guidance or interpretation?
  5. jacathcart

    jacathcart New Member

    Oct 11, 2002
    Tacoma WA
    "In possession" is a term of art when applied to the keeper. Certainly when the keeper is dribbling the ball back into the area he "has possession" but it is not until he grasps it with his hands that he is "in possession". So if he dribbles back into the area and picks up the ball he is in possession and must timely put it back into play.

  6. new old man

    new old man New Member

    Jun 7, 2003
    SW US
    What more should you look to before what? If you are a true fan, all you need to know is that the ref has done wrong to your team- no further thought is required, only derogatory comments.
    The simple LOTG- seventeen in number, plus the unwritten Law 18- are explained to a degree by the Advice to Referees, now in a second edition, primarily for US refs. Then you must ask are you watching USSF/ FIFA, or NFHS/ College, Indoor/ outdoor, MLS, or other local abberation? In the US, due to our superior wisdom, we have created several rule systems to observe. Shows our flexibility, I suppose.
    Go to, or the newest site, for the latest LOTG/ ATR's.
    Your major problem with the passback call is that either that ref blew it- or you missed who really kicked it last, before the keeper got it. Either way, isn't it neat how the game continued on w/o replay or review or vote on what to do? Are we here to watch soccer, or a debating society? Right or wrong, lets just get on with the game, eh? If the ref is bad, or biased, he won't be around long, anyway. Simply let one call go, as it all evens out. Regards
  7. eltico

    eltico Member

    Jul 16, 2000
  8. uniteo

    uniteo Member+

    Sep 2, 2000
    Rockville, MD
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Debating society, definitely. This is the referee forum.

Share This Page