keep or cut sophomores

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by hurricanesoccer, Nov 4, 2004.

1. hurricanesoccer

hurricanesoccer New Member

Nov 4, 2004
    this is my first post, but i have a big question. i'm a jv coach at a local high school which is building a very competitive program. i have some sophmores that probably won't play for the varisty next year and won't really contribute to my team this year. do you think it wise to cut them? i don't want to waste their time b/c they won't get much playing time and i also realize that soccer is more than just a sport. any comments on what i should do?

1 person likes this.
  2. furyboy999

furyboy999 New Member

Oct 16, 2004
    I'm 8th grade student play J.V. Yeh our team has some sophmores that aren't that good, but the coach doesn't play them that much, and hye it's a possibility they will play varsity, not cuase there not good, but becuase there a good attitude and bring the team togeher. So I'd keep a few of them but not all but keep teh good spirited and ones that have the right attitude. And let this year be a lesson for them to get better at soccer, and maybe they'll improve enough to play at the higher level.

Just my two cents.

1 person likes this.
  3. thesoccerphantom

Nov 4, 2004
    Dallas Texas
    First of all, if you have 8th graders playing on the varsity team, that is a big problem. I can't believe that he is that good to play varsity or the upper classmen are that bad. Its could also be a little dink school. Most schools on the east coast have 3 teams. Freshman team, exclusively freshmen. A JV team that might have a few freshman, mostly sophmores and possibly a junior. Varsity is Seniors, Juniors and then any sophomores or an exceptional freshmen. If you cut a sophmore or two, what will you have left the following 2 years. My sons team last year had well over 100 people try out. In conclusion,,,,, keep the sophmores.

4. newsocdad

newsocdad New Member

Nov 8, 2004