Joe Gaetjens and usa 1950

Discussion in 'USA Men: News & Analysis' started by Cooperstown, Dec 3, 2004.

1. Cooperstown

Cooperstown New Member

Dec 3, 2004
    Alright, after a 5 year hiatus I am back at BigSoccer. I'm looking for some help.

I'm a graduate student studying museum studies in Cooperstown, NY. I'm beginning research for my master's thesis and am looking to do an in-depth study on Joe Gaetjens, the 1950's US World cup team, or another footie related topic. With 'The Game of Their Lives' in post-production, I imagine there might be some recent research on this subject and I'm trying to assess what has already been studied and what avenues I can explore. Particularly, I would like to figure out what exactly happened to Gaetjens in Haiti - how he ended up back there and why he was abducted and killed by Duvalier's police.

I will hopefully be collaberating with the Hall of Fame in Oneonta (I have an eye on a future exhibit), but does anyone here have some info, some contacts or some advice to help my project along? Thanks.

2. JoeSoccerFan

JoeSoccerFan Member+

Aug 11, 2000
    Would love to read your paper. I'm willing to send my comments on it (as payment).

Good luck!

3. MyHouse!

MyHouse! Member

Mar 12, 2000
    Tallahassee
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    From what I've read, none is really sure exactly what happened to him.

Members of his family were active in politics and opposed Duvalier. One day the Tonton Macoutes came and took Joe away and he was never seen or heard from again.

http://www.webster.edu/~corbetre/haiti/misctopic/sports/gaetjens.htm
    http://haitiforever.com/bbs/mesajyo/1317.html

4. Mglnbea

Mglnbea Member

Jun 26, 2001
    Northern California
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Nat'l Team:
    United States