Grad school application problem...

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by nicodemus, Feb 10, 2006.

1. nicodemus

nicodemus Member+

Sep 3, 2001
    Cidade Mágica
    Club:
    PAOK Saloniki
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Okay, I'm applying for grad school and they want three academic references.

I finished my undergraduate degree in '99 and I went back to look at the deparment website of both my major and minor and there's exactly one professor left between the two that might remember me. There's only four overall left that I actually took a class with and three of those were lower level survey courses where I'm sure I was known more by my student # than for my academic prowess.

I knew where one of my old profs moved onto but when I went to search for his new contact info, he seems to have either quit or been dismissed from his most recent employer under odd circumstances.

Any ideas on what I should do?

2. JohnW

JohnW Member

Apr 27, 2001
    St. Paul
    Options:

You can always contact the director of graduate studies of the department where you want to apply. If you describe your circumstances, he or she could waive the requirement of the additional two academic references (assuming you can at least get one).

Also, the department may accept a reference from someone who can assess your academic/intellectual potential. Likely it would be a boss, co-worker, etc. who could speak to your future academic success.

I assume you need the references right now, but you could always take a class as a continuing ed class at a university, get to know the professor, and ask for a reference.

It's more of a long shot, but depending on the department and area of study, you could always contact the professor you want to work with and see if you can set up a meeting. It's unlikely he or she will write a reference on one meeting, but that person might be willing to be somewhat of your advocate when it comes to reviewing your application.