Gaming Hardware?

Discussion in 'Video and Computer Games' started by KesOne, Jul 20, 2011.

1. KesOne

KesOne BigSoccer Supporter

Mar 11, 2005
    Nueva Jersey
    Nat'l Team:
    Peru
    Anyone using a laptop for gaming? If so what models do you have or can recommend that come with a good graphics card for todays games.

2. Quango

Quango BigSoccer Supporter

Jul 25, 2003
    Colorado
    Club:
    Colorado Rapids
    I'm not an expert, but I think the main thing you will need is a dedicated video card with 512MB-1GB of RAM. The standard integrated-graphics ones that come on the motherboard are not adequate for gaming.

3. DutchFootballRulez

Jul 15, 2003
    Baltimore, MD
    Club:
    FC Barcelona
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I have a Dell XPS L502X, it has a Core i7-2620M, 8GB of RAM, 2GB Nvidia 540 Mobile graphics chip, i got it in April. It has USB 3.0 ports and 750GB HDD with JBL speakers.

I can play StarCraft II with high settings, Dragon Age: Origins with no problems. FPS's with a laptop are tricky, you need a mouse to make it work best.

4. KesOne

KesOne BigSoccer Supporter

Mar 11, 2005
    Nueva Jersey
    Nat'l Team:
    Peru
    In all honesty I already have a i7 quad core laptop with a dedicated graphics card which is able to play games. I'm not a big pc gamer tbh. I was just wondering what people used here. I'm thinking now of a lighter laptop, easier to carry around, possibly a macbook air but those are too small. I hear an updated macbook/pro is in the works with the macbook air look which would be a 15" screen possibly higher resolution with an ssd which would finally make me jump to Apple :eek:

5. kcscsupporter

kcscsupporter Member+

Apr 17, 2002
    D17
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    a 2gb card in a laptop? that whole thing must've cost a pretty penny or two.

6. Ombak

Ombak Moderator
    Staff Member

Flamengo
    Apr 19, 1999
    Irvine, CA
    Club:
    Flamengo Rio Janeiro