First day of school activities...

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by Jacen McCullough, Jul 7, 2005.

1. Jacen McCullough

Nov 23, 1998
    Maryland
    Hey folks,

As I will soon be entering my first year as a paid teacher, I realized that the one thing I'm the most unprepared for will be the first thing I face: The first day of school. I'll be teaching 5 sections of freshman English this year, and I've been trying to come up with some ideas for an activity for the first day. The main problem is that most of my ideas had been predicated on the 45 minute class. My new school has a block schedule, so I will have my new students for 82 minutes on that first day. I'd love to hear from both teachers (at any level) and students on their first day of the year experiences. Teachers, what has worked the best for you? What types of activities do you do and what do you get out of them? Students, what types of activities do you like to do on the first day of the year? What activities do you absolutely HATE. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

2. Iceblink

Iceblink Member

Oct 11, 1999
    Chicago
    Club:
    Ipswich Town FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I'll respond later, as I have to head to school for team leaders' curriculum planning... but I did have time to ask this...

How'd you get a job so fast?

Are you working at the school where you did your student teaching?

3. pething101

pething101 Member

Jul 31, 2001
    Smyrna, Ga
    Club:
    West Ham United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    First day of the year is pretty darn important. Things I do on the first day

A seating chart is a must. Make sure everyone has an assigned seat. It does not matter how you do it, I ususally have a transparency with each seat on it and write the students names in the seats and have it on the overhead as they walk in but other do it differently

Go through your classroom rules, policies and procedures.