Census data on most poorest city (R)

Discussion in 'Politics & Current Events' started by Blitzz Boy, Sep 23, 2004.

1. Blitzz Boy

Blitzz Boy Member

Apr 4, 2002
    The West Side
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/6080044/

I know some of you tape the Department of Commerce press conferences and watch them later..........

It's too bad that Cleveland did not get an MLS team. We could post this on MLS Rivalries.

For those posters like, um, me who are lobbying for taxpayer-funded stadiums for your MLS team; let this be a lesson.

Cleveland is probably down a billion dollars or so after paying for places for the Browns, Indians and Cavs.

If pro sports stadiums are such engines of economic growth, shouldn't Cleveland be rich? Nope, they're flat broke like Miami; who has also funded stadiums for pro sports teams.

Finally, can anyone find this study on census.gov ? I surfed around there & I never did find it.

2. Smiley321

Smiley321 Member

Apr 21, 2002
    Concord, Ca
    I'm no expert on Cleveland, but friends have told me that that the baseballpark has revitalized a terrible area. Maybe things would have been alot worse without it. Maybe the city is broke because of the leadership of losers like Kucinich.

San Francisco's PacBell park has totally transformed a large decrepit area. All the city did was donate the land, it must have been a tremendous bargain. Of course, San Francisco is swimming is so much money that even their nuts running the government can't screw it up.

3. nicephoras

nicephoras A very stable genius

Fucklechester Rangers
    Jul 22, 2001
    Eastern Seaboard of Yo! Semite
    This has nothing to do with the stadium, which actually did revitalize a crappy part of downtown. This has a lot more to do with the fact that Cleveland is part of the rustbelt, and almost no one white lives in the actual city of Cleveland anymore. I have a feeling the numbers would radically change for greater Cleveland.