Bring banners

Discussion in 'USA Men: World Cup Fans & Travel' started by Thunderpac, Jun 4, 2006.

1. Thunderpac

Thunderpac Member

Feb 16, 2000
    NE Minneapolis
    My first memory of matchday in Paris back in 1998 when we played Germany is of all the drunk Germans I saw kicking bottles and staggering outside the stadium as I approached. My second memory is of walking out to my seats and witnessing the mass unfurling of banners for teams like TSV 1860 and Schalke. I was a relative newbie back then so it was an incredible sight for me.

This time around I am bringing two banners to hang. The first is the Bruce Arena one depicted here. The second is one that we made in a garage with a canvas paint tarp, masking tape, and a couple cans of spray paint. It reads, simply, "1st Minnesota Volunteers."

This is a call to all USA fans traveling to Germany to bring banners or make some while there.

I don't know how hard it is to get materials in Germany, but the canvas and spray paint thing works well. You just spread the canvas out, mask off some letters, and spray. Stencils would also work. Figure something out. Let's do it.

2. Ultra Peanut

Ultra Peanut New Member

Jun 3, 2004
    Achewood
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
  3. avocats

avocats Member

Nov 24, 2003
    Pacific Northwest
    Club:
    Seattle Sounders
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Inspired by our East Coast brethren, we're picking up our first banner (4x6 SoCal Brigade) today.

Now, how do you guys get to hang them? What equipment should we bring? We've heard cable ties, duct tape, etc.

Is security a problem? Getting down to the front row, I mean.

(I guess a group of banner people entering early like in home games here is out of the question.)

Any tips appreciated.

4. joehill

joehill Member

Sep 28, 2005
    brooklyn
    Club:
    DC United