I have noticed that MLS gives out an assist for just about anything these days. In todays COL-SJ game Pablo was given an assist on the first goal. Why? For those of you who didn't see it.... Pablo had the ball about 60 yards from the goal Colorado was attacking. Under no defensive pressure he passed a square ball to Valderamma (15 feet away) who took a few touches looked around and sent a long ball (35 yards) to Carreri who carried in on goal and scored. How is this an assist for Pablo? When pablo played that square ball to Valderamma did he know Valderamma would send the long ball over the top? I doubt it. I can understand giving an assist to the player who originates the goal. If for example Valderamma played a long ball to carreri who was in on goal and dropped it off to a player next to him who knocked it in - its okay to give Valderamma the assist. Has there been a rule change on this? What do you guys think.