2021-2022 UEFA Referee Discussion [R]

Discussion in 'Referee' started by MassachusettsRef, Jul 14, 2021.

  1. Orange14

    Orange14 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 27, 2007
    Bethesda, MD
    Club:
    AFC Ajax
    Nat'l Team:
    Netherlands
    @balu - according an Ajax website this is Sanchez Martinez first CL match. I hope he has a good one!
     
    balu repped this.
  2. unclesox

    unclesox BigSoccer Supporter

    Mar 8, 2003
    209, California
    Club:
    FC Barcelona
    #227 unclesox, Sep 14, 2021
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2021
    Halftime Sevilla v RB Salzburg and it's raining in more ways than one.
    Salzburg awarded THREE penalties, the first one following VAR review. They convert 1 of the three.
    Then VAR awards Sevilla a penalty which they convert.
    Four penalties in the first half.
    1-1

    EDIT:
    First match in UCL history to have four penalties awarded in a match, let alone in 45 minutes.
    Also first match in tournament history that the away team had three spot kicks awarded. (Home team awarded 3 penalties has happened three times previously)
     
    gold4278 repped this.
  3. akindc

    akindc Member+

    Jun 22, 2006
    Washington, DC
    And an early RC against Man U in the other game. Lots going on today!
     
    Thegreatwar repped this.
  4. unclesox

    unclesox BigSoccer Supporter

    Mar 8, 2003
    209, California
    Club:
    FC Barcelona
    Just to add, the four penalties were awarded in a span of 30 minutes.
     
    Thegreatwar repped this.
  5. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Wrong thread?

    I mean, it could apply here, I'm sure. But I think you meant this for the EPL discussion.
     
    code1390 and Thegreatwar repped this.
  6. unclesox

    unclesox BigSoccer Supporter

    Mar 8, 2003
    209, California
    Club:
    FC Barcelona
    Sevilla attack, through ball to Youssef En-Nesyri who appears to be offside but assistant keeps his flag down as the play continues.
    En-Nesyri then goes down in the box, clear simulation.
    Ref shows him yellow, and as it's his second booking En-Nesyri is off.
    Sevilla players protest, asking for the ref to talk to his assistant on whether it was offside and thus negating the simulation/second booking.
    Ref waves them away. En-Nesyri exits.
     
    Thegreatwar repped this.
  7. code1390

    code1390 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Nov 25, 2007
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    It was such a shocking dive that he deserved it even if the AR was delaying the flag.
     
  8. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Four red cards in one half-matchday is nothing to sneeze at for the UCL. Lot going on today, including Anthony Taylor believing he was showing a second yellow to one player, so producing the red card incorrectly (the mistake was rectified--sort of a reverse Graham Poll).

    Maybe the most interesting incident was a disallowed goal in Lille. 2:55 in the highlights below. My understanding is that no other imagery was shown to illustrate the veracity of the call. If this is all Blom went with to disallow the goal... I just don't see it.

     
    refinDC and gaolin repped this.
  9. code1390

    code1390 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Nov 25, 2007
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    VAR catches one of the most accidental of accidental HB scoring a goal you'll see in Atletico v Porto at 0-0 in the 80'.
     
  10. Raul_Madrid

    Raul_Madrid Member

    Feb 16, 2010
    Vancouver
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Nat'l Team:
    Spain
    It could not get more accidental than that! but it was the correct call.
    A lot of people are saying it should have been a PK , (Keeper fouled the attacker) I personally don't think there was anything wrong there, what do you guys think?
     
  11. code1390

    code1390 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Nov 25, 2007
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Nope not a pk. Just really unlucky it grazed the hand when it was almost certainly going in the goal.

    Also, apparently the on field decision was foul and handball so it was the var confirming that decision.
     
    Raul_Madrid repped this.
  12. Iranian Monitor

    Iranian Monitor Member+

    Aug 18, 2004
    Tehran Iran
    I have seen nothing that shows the ball hitting Taremi's hand, leaving aside the fact that any such contact would itself been caused by Taremi being essentially brought down by the keeper. Porto wasn't just robbed; the whole thing (including the referee not bothering to look at the replays personally) coupled with that red card handed out, looked very suspicious.
     
  13. Raul_Madrid

    Raul_Madrid Member

    Feb 16, 2010
    Vancouver
    Club:
    Real Madrid
    Nat'l Team:
    Spain

    0:32 shows it, the contact is VERY minimal but there. While I think this was a very rare case, super HARSH but correct call.
    According the rule, it doesnt matter intentional or not, doesnt matter why he is falling down because of XYZ, if it touches your hand (any part) and go in, its not a goal.
     
  14. Iranian Monitor

    Iranian Monitor Member+

    Aug 18, 2004
    Tehran Iran
    You are looking for contact with his hands and assuming there might have been where you are pointing (0:32 in that video), but that video really doesn't really show it. To show it, they will have to slow that video and show a still picture of the supposed hand contact (minimal or otherwise). The referee seemed to be looking for an excuse to disallow the goal and, while he seemed to initially be looking for a foul by Taremi on the keeper, since there was no such foul (arguably the reverse). the best the the VAR team could give him was this supposed handball.
     
  15. Iranian Monitor

    Iranian Monitor Member+

    Aug 18, 2004
    Tehran Iran
    p.s.
    I know a lot of folks will like to assume there was a handball and have the more interesting discussion of whether such a toally 'incidental', 'minimal' and 'accidental' supposed handball can be called against an offensive player considering the laws of the game (which strictly and technically might suggest it could). But until I really see the handball first, I don't think the former issue even arises.
     
  16. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Huh? It’s clear as day that the ball strikes his hand. What are we talking about? It’s right there on video. I mean, every angle shows it.

    Also, a discussion about whether or not it is punishable is not “interesting” at all. It’s mandatory. There is no discussion. The goal cannot stand.

    The only interesting aspect about all this is whether or not the goalkeeper fouled the attacker. And, well, that’s not terribly interesting either from my perspective.

    It’s unlucky. Because this used to be a goal. And it would be a goal without VAR. But this was 100% the correct decision. I’d also be careful about parachuting in here and suggesting a referee performance was “suspicious.”
     
  17. code1390

    code1390 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Nov 25, 2007
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Perhaps things would have been different without the VAR safety net, but the on-field decision was a handball hence the reason we get the check over graphic and don't get the box signal from the referee.
     
    MassachusettsRef repped this.
  18. Orange14

    Orange14 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 27, 2007
    Bethesda, MD
    Club:
    AFC Ajax
    Nat'l Team:
    Netherlands
    I did not think Sanchez Martinez had a particularly good match with Sporting - Ajax. He called a lot of high boot fouls when both players were going after the ball and there was incidental contact on the foot. I don't know how players can avoid this. He should have given out an early YC as the game got very chippy. Ajax were the benefits of two close VAR calls (both correct obviously), one allowing an Ajax goal and one calling back a Sporting goal that woul
     
  19. AremRed

    AremRed Member+

    Sep 23, 2013
    Curious what are the guidelines you mentioned?
     
  20. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Trying to figure out how this got "check complete" after Turpin awarded a penalty in Paris over the weekend:

    https://streamwo.com/WhPbfTy
     
    Thegreatwar repped this.
  21. Thegreatwar

    Thegreatwar Member

    May 28, 2015
    New England
    Turpin was very good in this game other than said PK call. I’ve kind of started to notice that French VAR is actually quite terrible. IIRC there was a clear OS missed on a goal a few weeks ago (in a PSG game) and the VAR failed to correct it. The on-field CRs are very good, though.

    Delajod was even better in Marseille-Rennes IMO, making a potentially difficult game look easy.
     
  22. rh89

    rh89 Member

    Sep 29, 2015
    OR
    I see some contact between the sliding leg and the back foot. IDK if it's enough for a penalty by itself, but it's enough for a "Check complete" for me.
     
  23. MassachusettsRef

    MassachusettsRef Moderator
    Staff Member

    Apr 30, 2001
    Washington, DC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Oh sure. But the APP is checked for all penalties. You don't think Neymar has clearly committed a foul first? Or, at the very least, that the overall level of contact/fouling from Neymar in the first place makes "penalty" a clearly wrong decision?
     
    Thegreatwar repped this.
  24. balu

    balu Member+

    Oct 18, 2013
    Crazy end to Cadiz - Barcelona:



    Minute 94:50 with 5 minutes of stoppage time of a 0-0 match, with Barca down to 10 men after a contentious 2YC on 65'. Cadiz races forward on a counter. There is a second ball in the Barca box, it seems that ter Stegen had a chance to kick it away earlier but didn't. As Barca players race back into the box to defend, Busquets kicks the second ball towards the Cadiz player with the first ball, hitting him. Del Cerro Grande blows his whistle. Cadiz crosses the ball into the box and another player converts it into the goal, seemingly no offside. As the ball enters the goal, del Cerro Grande is already showing Busquets yellow. Official reason: "Kicking a second ball that was on the field at the time towards an opponent in possession of the ball, hitting the ball against the opponents and thus interfering with play." The restart is a free-kick at the spot where the second ball hit the Cadiz player. Heavy protests from Koeman, who is shown red.

    Barca will appeal both the 2YC and Busquet's yellow.

    http://www.fcbarcelona.com/en/news/...st-de-jong-red-and-yellow-for-sergio-busquets
     
  25. code1390

    code1390 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Nov 25, 2007
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    The amount of fans/players who think a second ball on the field means the game must automatically stop is very high. Busquet's could have kicked the ball anywhere. He could have left it alone (after all, it was in the penalty area and it would be a drop ball to the GK if the ball hits it). He chose to kick it towards an opponent who was attacking.

    I heard about this super controversial moment and then I watched it and well the ref got it correct.
     
    Thegreatwar and Mikael_Referee repped this.

Share This Page