Youth player taking the taking the mickey of a coach - advice

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by slewis1972, Mar 14, 2017.

1. slewis1972

slewis1972 New Member

Jun 22, 2016
    Club:
    --other--
    Hi All

Need some advice as not sure I am reading this right.

I have a player that has in the last 18months been a right pain. Initially just talking over coaches while we are explaining drills etc, to them kicking balls away when we are trying to discuss drills etyc. The other players have now got annoyed with set player and they now tell him to stop, I just stop talking and wait for them to deal with him as got sick and tired of keep telling him as he was not listening. But its becoming more common. Yes I have a few others that can be silly/pain at times but nothing like this player. Its also coming to a point that times I am not enjoying the sessions when this player starts. I have been coaching for 15+ years and enjoy what I do in a voluntary capacity.

On Sunday just gone, coaching a game, the players were not reacting to change in transition from attack to defend, so a quick shout out from me "drop drop drop", players reacted, all good. BUT this player was subbed at the time, standing with 2 other subs. This player then started muttering "drop drop drop" under his breath in a tone I did not like. I felt he was taking the mickey (piss) out of me. I did not say anything as was concentrating on the 9 players out on the field. If I also heard it, so did the other 2 subs.

But I think I must say something. I was thinking I advise the group that if I hear anyone take the mickey out of the coaches, I will immediately suspect x player for 1 session and 1 game. Any further repeats - go find a new club.

Am I reading too much into this?

Anyone else had to deal with similar.

Thanks in advance.

2. mwulf67

mwulf67 Member+

Sep 24, 2014
    Club:
    Chelsea FC