why you got started

Discussion in 'Referee' started by threeputzzz, Oct 6, 2016.

?

primary reason you started refereeing

1. extra money

13 vote(s)
    21.0%
  2. recruited/volunteered at a match where no ref showed

1 vote(s)
    1.6%
  3. frustrated with what you saw on the field/desire to do it better

15 vote(s)
    24.2%
  4. for the exercise

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. talked into it by a friend

4 vote(s)
    6.5%
  6. wanted to stay involved in the game

13 vote(s)
    21.0%
  7. something else...

16 vote(s)
    25.8%
  1. threeputzzz

threeputzzz Member+

May 27, 2009
    Minnesota
    I don't want to hijack the passback thread so starting this one.
    I remember exactly when I decided I was going to become a referee. My last year as a head coach I had a u11 girls team in a match where the referee was all of 12, on her first game, and afraid to blow the whistle. The opponent had one kid who was easily frustrated and after being dispossessed of the ball grabbed one of my players by the shoulders and performed a head first pile driver wrestling move into the ground. That at least brought a whistle but no card.

Im curious how many others decided to start out of a desire to simply do it better than what we saw on the pitch as opposed to wanting to earn extra cash (most common reason for youth referees) or some other reason. What was the most important reason you decided to start?

dadman repped this.
  2. sulfur

sulfur Member+

Oct 22, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    For me, I was at the field all the time (I lived about two blocks away) watching games in the evenings because well... cheap entertainment!

I got recruited as a club AR all the time, so figured that I may as well learn what I was doing and make some money at the same time.

It did mean that the beer during the game (there was a beer store right beside the fields... best sales of the year on a particular tournament weekend... hahaha) was consumed at a significantly lower rate. Alas. :)