Why are we more drawn to European soccer than our own?

Discussion in 'Soccer in the USA' started by NervousWreck96, Nov 1, 2015.

1. NervousWreck96

NervousWreck96 New Member

Oct 29, 2015
    Towson, MD
    Club:
    Manchester City FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, so if someone moves it or deletes it, go ahead.

I want to clarify, I'm not a complete noob. I know about MLS and its status with fans compared to the rest of the leagues in Europe.

Here's the thing. I'm writing a paper for my college class. This is the topic I chose, since it's fascinated me since soccer's popularity exploded in the U.S.

What I want is input from people who know the game more than I do, because I've only followed it for about a year and a half. I want to know the concrete reasons why soccer fans in the United States are more drawn to soccer leagues in Europe than the one in their own country.

Is it something about the quality of play in MLS? Business practices? Or is it just that the other leagues are just more attractive?

I need you to be as specific as possible. Thank you in advance for cooperating.

2. Tom Ado

Tom Ado Member

Jun 25, 2015
    There are currently only 17 U.S.-based MLS teams in 16 markets. MLS gets strong local support in a lot of these markets, but there are still plenty of non-MLS markets, where the league's presence is lacking. My guess is soccer fans in markets without MLS tend to gravitate toward the sport's most glamorous teams (Barcelona, Man Utd, etc.), the same way non-NBA/MLB markets tend to gravitate toward the Lakers and Yankees.