When I Graduated High School... (Privacy Issue)

Discussion in 'Education and Academia' started by EvanJ, May 20, 2007.

1. EvanJ

EvanJ Member+

Manchester United
    United States
    Mar 30, 2004
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    When I graduated high school, my high school distributed to all the graduates a map showing the location of the colleges that all the students are going to. Some students go to better colleges than others. I think my high school should have been legally prohibited from doing this. In my opinion, the information about what college the students go to should be kept confidential (from other students) unless the student provides consent. What do you think? Ironically, I was excluded from the map I'm assuming accidentally.

2. Caesar

Caesar Moderator
    Staff Member

Mar 3, 2004
    Oztraya
    It's public information. Who is enrolled at which university isn't a secret... I don't really see an issue with schools publishing public info that's of interest to their readers.

3. quentinc

quentinc New Member

Jan 3, 2005
    Annapolis, MD
    How would the school find out in the first place without asking the students?

4. EvanJ

EvanJ Member+

Manchester United
    United States
    Mar 30, 2004
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States