Stay-and-play tournaments?

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by CornfieldSoccer, May 9, 2016.

1. CornfieldSoccer

Aug 22, 2013
    Anyone out there have much experience with tournaments in which participating teams are required to stay at hotels affiliated with the tournament? I've never heard of this until someone pointed out the link below.

I'm not picking on this club and I have no experience with this tournament, but I'm not wild about the idea. I'd be curious to hear from others who might know more.

Do these arrangements typically yield better rates? I've sometimes been able to find better and/or closer hotels than those suggested by tournaments. Are there other advantages for the teams coming to the tournament? Does the host club in these cases typically have a sponsorship deal that benefits it financially if all visiting teams use the required hotels?

http://www.groveunitedsoccer.com/page/show/440779-2016-memorial-day-shootout-hotels-and-lodging

2. ScottyMU

ScottyMU Member

May 1, 2013
    Ohio
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    All out of town tournaments that my kids have been involved with have had a "required" place to stay and I've had mixed experiences. There was one that was really out-of-this-world great, establishing the ballroom as a player and parent breakfast center, but most are simply for ease. It can be pretty good for bonding when you have your entire team staying at the same place, but I don't think there's any significant rate difference. I've heard some horror stories about tournaments that match up player rosters with hotel guest lists, but those are just hearsay. For the most part, I think it's impossible to determine if an individual player stays somewhere else as long as a large part of the team stays at a partner hotel.

There's no reason to pick on the club. Of the 9 tournaments my daughters have travelled to over the past 2 years, all of them had a similar sort of arrangement.

3. mwulf67

mwulf67 Member+