Re-Set for Rec Soccer

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by VolklP19, Jan 17, 2018.

1. VolklP19

VolklP19 Member+

Jun 23, 2010
    Illinois
    I've been working with a u5-u8 mixed teams since Fall. I have 14 years of rec and comp coaching experience and I have decided - along with my G05, that we can do more for kids who are not ready to commit or lack resources.

We've taken a developmental approach with our players and engaged parents in that concept as well. We've quickly changed a culture for our program that gets parents focused on mental development just as much - even more so in some cases over winning.

- We ask them to promote curiosity of the sport and to support their players when they try new things on the field.

- We are focusing on terms and concepts - for example for Fall the u8 group focused on Open Spaces, Distributing & Settling. We build out competitive level drills which they are more then capable of participating in. In fact 3 of our u8 players developed so well that we went with a 2-1-1 and had them manage the field in the center back and mid positions - this enabled to expand our terms to these players in a deeper mental state.

- We integrated dev with parents by often speaking with them - that the bad shot on goal was more than just kicking a ball... That in employeed an awareness of the field, a decision and finally an execution.

- We intorduced 3v3 and Open Play on the weekends - no coaching for either.

Now I Director of Soccer for the Rec and have to push this down to volunteer coaches... Input would be great - any ideas or concepts to make Rec more affordable while at the same time improving the level of play. I don't believe that kids who are 5-8 years old should have to pay $1,500.00 per season to play in D and C leagues.