NWSL All Star team, May 20

Discussion in 'NWSL' started by Smallchief, May 20, 2013.

1. Smallchief

Smallchief Member+

Oct 27, 2012
    Club:
    --other--
    Ok, it's early and I'm no expert, but to open a discussion and to mark what I've seen, below is my NWSL all star team so far this year. Nobody from Seattle, Chicago, or Boston made the team. I hated to leave Fishloch off. Boston is a decent team but I didnt perceive that any of its players consistently excelled.

Here's my picks:

Forward: Morgan, Portland. (any doubt on this?)
    Cuelllar, KC (four goals in five games. Production matters.)

Midfield: Sinclair, Portland (dominating wherever she plays)
    Matheson, Washington
    Schmidt, Sky Blue
    Scott, KC (Yeah, it's an all Canadian midfield)

Defense: Sauerbrunn, KC
    Rampone, Sky Blue
    Krieger, Washington
    Doughterty, Portland (perhaps my least certain choice)

GK: Franche, W NY (Gets lot of action, handles it well)

2. newsouth

newsouth Member

Nov 20, 2010
    Club:
    Santos FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Brazil
    of course in the both, it's Missy Geha. :ROFLMAO: But I do like the animation of the two ladies in Portland.

3. Cliveworshipper

Cliveworshipper Member+

Dec 3, 2006

At least you picked a team with defenders on it.

But a 10 player team isn't going far. I'm not sure who they would play, but they will be tired playing man down for 90 with no subs.

Katreus and Nacional Tijuana repped this.
  4. WPS_Movement

WPS_Movement Member+

Apr 9, 2008
    If NWSL was taking on one of the other power clubs across the world in a "Friendly", and all players (including allocated players) were eligible to be chosen, here's my team of 22 NWSL all-stars to take the pitch against Lyon, as of "today" (based on who's healthy, and who has earned it).

F - Alex Morgan, Christine Sinclair, Sydney Leroux, Lisa De Vanna, Samantha Kerr
    MF - Freels, O'Reilly, Schmidt, Desiree Scott, Matheson, Fishlock, Mewis, Becky Edwards