More resources

Discussion in 'Coach' started by Timbuck, Jun 27, 2016.

1. Timbuck

Timbuck Member

Jul 31, 2012
    I'm a coach that loves to learn. Here is what seems to be the options out there:
    1. Sign up for the next license level
      • Pros: Usually good courses
      • Cons: Not offered often enough, expensive and too time consuming
    2. Read books
      • Pros: Good info, can read at my own pace
      • Cons: Not dynamic, not always "real world", can't really see how drills or philosophies spill over onto the field
    3. Videos (online or purchased)
      • Pros: get to see the drills in action. Can watch at your own pace
      • Cons: Like the books, not dynamic enough
    4. This forum -
      • Pros - good interaction, good insight. real life examples
      • Cons: Not dynamic and can't "see it."
    I don't want to sign up for a new license level. I really don't care what my license level is. And I'm not able to commit to full weekends to be in a class.

Is anybody out there doing in-person coaching forums? Where coaches tell other coaches what their "secret sauce" is? If as a whole, we all want to develop better players in this country, we need to start helping each other. Aside from coaches within the same club meeting with a DOC, is there any kind of inter-club coach forum out there? (I know there is an annual conference for most state associations, but I'm looking for something a bit more informal). Maybe I'll look to put something together.

Jyby, elessar78 and rca2 repped this.
  2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    Good idea. People meet up for just about any interest: photography, hiking, painting, books, cooking, etc. Why not coaching.