How do you use video?

Discussion in 'Coach' started by akitt, Jul 3, 2017.

1. akitt

akitt New Member

Nov 1, 2016
    New York, NY
    Club:
    Tottenham Hotspur FC
    Hi there, I am a former collegiate Lacrosse coach and technologist somewhat new to the realm of soccer coaching. I'm working on a camera technology that automatically detects, tracks, and films soccer games. You wouldn't need a parent or videographer to operate it, it'd track and record automatically by analyzing the video stream. As part of the research process I'm trying to talk to innovating soccer coaches who use or want to use video to learn from and break down their teams practice and play.

I'd love to hear from coaches here. Do you use video for anything? How do you find it lacking? When you're coaching in-game, what types of things do you pay attention to tactically? Feel free to post here or also DM me!

2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    At the youngest ages, just like lacrosse, coaches look at technique. Later they look more at tactics. The difference is that technique focuses on individual players, while tactics focuses on groups of players.

For technique, the focus is just on the individuals that you are training. For tactics, you focus on the general situation so all the visual cues (including opponents) are related. Not just the players near the ball.

akitt repped this.
  3. nicklaino

nicklaino Member+

Feb 14, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    When people send me videos of their kids playing to comment on. Here is what I tell them do not send me a highlight tape. Rather see 2 halves of their best games. Do not put it to music. I want to see a wider shot so don't just focus on the player. If possible I would like to hear their communication on the field. I want to see what they do after they touched the ball. Or what they do when they don't have the ball.