Holiday traditions

Discussion in 'Parenting & Family' started by Ringo, Dec 10, 2006.

1. Ringo

Ringo Member

Jun 10, 2002
    Rough and Ready
    Club:
    Yeovil Town FC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I wanted to hear what you and your families do around the holidays, be it Christmas or otherwise.

Any neat traditions or other fun things you do every year? Our only tradition is spending too much money and then fighting the unbelievable urge to open presents early.

Oh, and two other traditions are that I'm good at figuring out what I'm getting and my wife is good at leaving out receipts, bags from stores she shopped at and other stuff that she gets un-Jolly about. So I guess I'm not that good at guessing because she's not that good at keeping it secret.
    :D

2. Cascarino's Pizzeria

Apr 29, 2001
    New Jersey, USA
    Pretty mundane stuff. I hop the fence to the neighbor's yard & cut down their best looking Christmas tree. Then we get roaring drunk on Bailey's and forget about decorating the tree. Then it's feats of strength. Usually ends with cops & lots of drama.

3. Lizzie Bee

Lizzie Bee Member+

Jul 27, 2004
    Utah
    Club:
    Real Salt Lake
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    We like to decorate a Christmas tree in the week or so after Thanksgiving and then watch the kids ritualistically tear it apart during the next few weeks until a sad-looking, Christmas tree-like substance is left on Christmas morning.

We like to put the kids in the car and drive around nicer neighborhoods where the Christmas lighting is more extensive just for fun.

We like to make little gifts for the neighbors and then fight over who has to deliver them. (Reminds me of an early Simpsons episode: "We're fighting about which one of us loves you the most." .. "Oh really? Carry on!" .. "YOU love him more!" .. "No, YOU love him more!")