Headache when heading the ball

Discussion in 'Player' started by MilanMadrid, Apr 16, 2016.

1. MilanMadrid

MilanMadrid Member

Nov 27, 2014
    Hey guys I was thinking about this the other day and thought I'd ask. I've been playing the game for a long time and ever since the beginning I just accepted the fact that heading the ball will always lead to a headache (literally). However after talking to a friend about it he said he never gets headaches, is it normal to get one?

2. nicklaino

nicklaino Member+

Feb 14, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Club:
    Manchester United FC
    First I am no doctor. I was a back I tried not to do a lot of heading. Play in hot weather and get over tired. Don't hydrate enough you can get a head ache just from that. Attack the ball don't let it hit you. Protect the space your heading in.

Please don't make a case for any more lawyers. I don't know who I hate more liberals or lawyers.

I had more head aches from American football then I ever had from heading the ball.

3. elessar78

elessar78 Moderator
    Staff Member

May 12, 2010
    Club:
    Arsenal FC
    I'll make a distinction between headache and head pain. Headache is a pain you feel inside your skull. Head pain is pain coming from the superficial muscles of the head and forehead—soreness from hitting a ball. Which one we talking about?

4. MilanMadrid

MilanMadrid Member

Nov 27, 2014
    More of like a headache, for example I was off balance trying to reach for a header yesterday and hit it with the side of my head by accident off a pretty pacy cross. I still have a headache today, if I shake my head it seems to get worse.

5. nicklaino

nicklaino Member+

Feb 14, 2012
    Brooklyn, NY
    Club:
    Manchester United FC