Completely baffled

Discussion in 'The Beautiful Game' started by Wedgewod, May 13, 2003.

1. Wedgewod

Wedgewod New Member

May 10, 2003
    I am brand new to watching soccer on TV. However, I am COMPLETELY confused on the viewing options available. For example, if I want to watch basketball, then I either tune in to the NBA or the NCAA. Judging from this board, there are about a million clubs, leagues, and national teams to watch.

Perhaps these seem like "ugly american" observations, but I would really appreciate it if someone could suggest a good starting focal point for watching world-class soccer.

Thanks,
    BB

2. bbrex

bbrex New Member

May 9, 2003
    College Station, TX
    Wedgewod,

You're going to be limited to what you can find in your area. MLS broadcasts should be relatively easy to find. I live in Texas, and Fox Sports Southwest showed one match a week (taped) from the F.A. Premier League in England. It usu. aired on Tuesdays.

Other than that, if you get Fox Sports World you can catch matches, just look for listings. If you speak Spanish, you can watch Telemundo or other Spanish-language stations to see matches. Digital cable might give you some other options, too.

3. skipshady

skipshady New Member

Apr 26, 2001
    Orchard St, NYC
    Go to soccer.com and there's a search engine for soccer programming in your area for the next week. I find that very helpful.

To make things simpler for you, the European club season (August - May) is ending so you can concentrate on your domestic league, Major League Soccer. Just tune into ESPN2 every Saturday at 4 pm.

There is one big match left on ESPN2 though, the European Champion's League final on May 28 between AC Milan vs Real Madrid or Juventus. Champion's League is considered the premier club tournament in the world because only the top teams from various European leagues play.