Canadian Soccer League 2011

Discussion in 'Canada' started by whyspotsonball, Jun 11, 2011.

1. whyspotsonball

Apr 9, 2007
    midwest
    How many foreign players and from where?

2. RedCoatsforever

Jun 10, 2008
    London, Ontario
    Club:
    Toronto FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Canada
    Nobody really keeps track of that.

3. whyspotsonball

Apr 9, 2007
    midwest
    I'm new to watching the CSL but noticed Toronto Croatia and looked them up in wikipedia, they have a long history. Looks like this will be a fun league to follow.

4. bettermirror

bettermirror Member

Jul 17, 2008
    Fraser Valley
    It's a good league. Basically the top tier of amateur soccer and is semi-pro certainly. I suggest amateur because it isn't full-time pro and I don't believe all players get paid. But it has good players certainly. It's above PDL I believe in quality of play. I wish it would be the beginning of a regionalized national league. BC has the PCSL which could be developed further, and this was investigated. A game between Croatia and ACBC was held in BC, which ACBC won. I believe the intent was to compare ability and for "powers that be" to talk. Nothing has come of it yet, so I don't suspect anything will.

I am sure one of the blocks was the fee to join CSL. PCSL is strictly amateur, except maybe some paid coaches.

5. whyspotsonball

Apr 9, 2007
    midwest
    I plan on being in Toronto the week on July 22, what team would the CSL fans recommend for me to see that week?

Also any predictions on the top 3 teams at year end?

6. Polygong

Polygong Moderator
    Staff Member

Apr 8, 2007
    Toronto
    Club:
    Toronto FC
    Nat'l Team:
    Canada
    A lot of the clubs in the league are in the Toronto area, so you have a good selection.

Here's some of the games in the area that will take place while you are here:

Fri, Jul 22 SC Toronto vs TFC Academy
    Fri, Jul 22 Toronto Croatia vs Brampton City Utd
    Sun, Jul 24 North York Astros vs Windsor Stars