Bylaws, structure and governance

Discussion in 'Youth & HS Soccer' started by Timbuck, May 16, 2018.

1. Timbuck

Timbuck Member

Jul 31, 2012
    I am a coach of 2 teams and have a kid playing on a team at our club. We are a grassroots type of club that has seen growth the past few years.
    I trust the guy that runs things and the 2 board members.
    But- I feel if we are to be taken more serious by other clubs in our league and by the league itself, we need to have a more formal structure.

What are the requirements of a soccer club? Does there need to be announced and open board meetings? Are minutes required? Are financial documents required to be viewed? What types of board members should there be?

Our president is also the treasurer, registrar and coaches a few teams. We are a 503(c), but some coaches get paid. The president and doc get paid. (Ie- we are not an all volunteer organization. But some coaches do work for free).

2. pu.ma

pu.ma Member

Feb 8, 2018
    Just curious, what are the issues that the club is running into or that you forsee?

3. P.W.

P.W. Member

Sep 29, 2014
    I don't think the public at large has any idea how any club is run - maybe not even their own kid's club. I find it hard to believe the league cares. Not saying a more formal structure is a bad thing, in fact, transparency is ALWAYS a good thing, but I don't think meeting minutes is going to get a club taken more seriously.

As an on again, off again team manager over the years, I take a club more seriously when they are responsive. Doesn't matter if it's a coach doing the responding, a team manager or some centralized contact person, but I like it when someone gets back to you. Also (and I know it shouldn't matter), I take a club more seriously when they have a single location for all their fields, rather than playing at 17 various parks/schools across three towns.

CornfieldSoccer repped this.
  4. mwulf67

mwulf67 Member+

Sep 24, 2014
    Club:
    Chelsea FC