Yelling At Players.

Discussion in 'Coach' started by smithxi, Aug 26, 2006.

1. smithxi

smithxi New Member

Aug 21, 2005
    Who is a yeller?

2. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005
    As a youth coach, I would yell alot at games. All cheering and congratulations. I am really big on the no negative comments approach. Negative comments kill creativity.

3. smithxi

smithxi New Member

Aug 21, 2005
  4. nsa

nsa Member+

New England Revolution
    United States
    Feb 22, 1999
    Notboston, MA
    Club:
    New England Revolution
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Negative comments kill a kid's enjoyment of the game. It is a game, remember? It the kids aren't having fun then they will go play lacrosse or field hockey or nintendo or something.

As a referee I have become less and less tolerant of the "yellers" amongst coaches. Today, in a very laid-back tournament, a G13 coach was screaming at one of his players. I had the misfortune to be the bench-side AR. Or maybe it was his misfortune that I was the senior AR. ;) I promptly told him that should he feel the need to yell at his players again then he should not do it in my ear. He took the hint. :)

One of my regrets as an official was allowing a Chelmsford coach to continuously verbally abuse his U10 players some 15 years ago. The poor kids were getting beaten by a clearly superior team. The coach never used "foul language", but it definitely fell into the "abusive" category. I've been trying ever since to make up for my failure that day.

5. rca2

rca2 Member+

Nov 25, 2005