World Cup, leaving the kids at home

Discussion in 'USA Men: World Cup Fans & Travel' started by rickinva, Apr 19, 2006.

1. rickinva

rickinva Member

Feb 8, 2002
    Fairfax, VA
    Looking for some legal advice/info here. Michelle and I are going for 2 weeks, and I am not sure what paperwork I need to have prepared for my mother, who will be watching our 2 kids while we are gone.

Do I need a power of attorney made up, so she can make medical decisions for my kids should they need any hospital care while we are away?

What else might I need that I am not thinking of?

Thanks for any advice anyone can offer.

Rick

2. gngrasso

gngrasso Member

Dec 16, 2005
    Long Island, NY
    That is a good question, I am in the same boat. I always thought that whoever is the guardian at the time can make that decision, but I'm not a lawyer.

But I DO know, however, that you should have a will in place before you go. Not a pleasant thought, but important.

3. El-Professor

El-Professor New Member

Dec 13, 2004
    Gulf Plains
    We're doing the same. We have our wills done and we'll leave a signed note with the granparents "to whom it may concern" that the grandparents have all responsibility for medical decisions.

Of course its not like we're going to Patagonia, the end of the earth, where no one can reach us, but its probably better to have contingencies in place.

I would like to hear if anyone knows the legal sides of this.

4. RandyfromUS

RandyfromUS Member

Dec 17, 2005
    Texas
    Again, not to be too morbid, but I was told to also make sure that your will contains specific assignment of custody for your children for the worst case scenario -- you don't need a court to decide this.