Wilson injury = Marta disciplining?

Discussion in 'Los Angeles Sol' started by Tsunami, May 29, 2009.

  1. Tsunami

    Tsunami Member

    Oct 16, 2000
    SD, CA
    Club:
    Arsenal LFC
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Lots of Gold Pride supporters seem to think that Marta should receive some sort of punishment for the 'shoulder charge' that caused Wilson to take the miss-step that caused her injury. Wilson gone for rest of season

    I didn't think that what Marta did was as egregious as a number of the fouls she herself suffered in the game, especially when compared to the foul that wasn't called when the Bay Area keeper took her out. What do you think?
     
  2. Merlin777

    Merlin777 New Member

    Mar 26, 2007
    Agree, no additional punishment for Marta required as thought both players contesting for position as chased the ball at high speed. What made it tragic (and do feel very bad for Wilson as you never want any injury) is the speed at which the collision took place.
     
  3. REALfootballRulez

    May 25, 2007
    Club:
    Saint Louis Athletica
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    No foul at all by Marta. It was a clear shoulder to shoulder play and it was unfortunate for Wilson the way she PLANTED her leg which caused the injury. Those kind of injuries happen when there is no contact at all.
     
  4. chinadaiyi

    chinadaiyi Member

    Sep 11, 2008
    China
    Club:
    SS Lazio Roma
    Nat'l Team:
    China PR
    although i am a fan of sol.but i don't like Marta:eek:.i am not a fan of hers.

    may there wasn't a foul?at the time she couldn't caught the ball.but she knocked the wilson in a highly speed.not the first time in a game.

    in the 2008 Beijing Olympic semi-final game Brazil vs Germany.she did the same foul(if not a foul?)Laudhr.

    the injured(or foul or physic contact not for the ball) could abstain.but she did it.more players injured ,are you happy?although you are the most popolar player.
     
  5. REALfootballRulez

    May 25, 2007
    Club:
    Saint Louis Athletica
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Chinadaiyi, that was a clean play by Marta as even the announcers on FSC said so. Shoulder to shoulder contact or even arms getting tangled up or slight pushing is incidental contact and happens all the time in soccer and is not a foul.
     
  6. StarCityFan

    StarCityFan BigSoccer Supporter

    Aug 2, 2001
    Greenbelt, MD
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Considering these were the same announcers who said that Daniela's injury was non-contact, I wouldn't consider them much of an authority.

    That being said, I don't see Marta's actions meriting league discipline. It's unfortunate that the league's actions so far lead people to believe that any injury stemming in any way from another player's contact should result in a suspension for that player.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. Bonnie Lass

    Bonnie Lass Moderator
    Staff Member

    Lyon
    Norway
    Oct 20, 2000
    Up top
    Club:
    Olympique Lyonnais
    Bingo. That's what bothered me the most about the Wambach-Daniella ruling.
     
  8. REALfootballRulez

    May 25, 2007
    Club:
    Saint Louis Athletica
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I don't recall them saying it's not contact just that it was not a dirty play since Abby was clearly going for the ball.

    If you recall that play Daniella injured the leg she planted on the ground not the leg that Abby came in contact with when she went for the ball.
     
  9. StarCityFan

    StarCityFan BigSoccer Supporter

    Aug 2, 2001
    Greenbelt, MD
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Verbatim quote (I dug out my DVD copy): "Looks like it's a non-contact injury." (And they go on at some length in that vein.)

    I don't know where you get that idea, either - it's her right knee that's injured, and it's her right leg that Abby runs into.
     
  10. Cville K C

    Cville K C Member

    Nov 3, 2008
    Collinsville, IL
    Club:
    Saint Louis Athletica
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    My only question on the Marta play, again, is what happened to the playing the player and not the ball stuff we've been hearing game after game from Jen. Marta obviously made a straight left turn into Wilson and didn't go directly for the ball. Yes, it was shoulder to shoulder. But does that mean anything goes when chasing the ball. Ostberg was carded for a very similar play earlier in the year. There isn't a lot of consistency.

    I agree with Wilson's assessment after the play. The league shouldn't have disciplined Marta, but it should have been a yellow called by the ref during the course of play. It was far worse than the foul she committed earlier in the game and received a yellow for.

    It's always okay until it happens to your player.
     
  11. StarCityFan

    StarCityFan BigSoccer Supporter

    Aug 2, 2001
    Greenbelt, MD
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I don't see the similarity between the two plays. Ostberg took De Vanna down by throwing an elbow at her neck. There was no "shoulder to shoulder" about it.
     
  12. Merlin777

    Merlin777 New Member

    Mar 26, 2007
    Most of seem to agree that it was an unfortunate accident, that maybe a yellow card but does not warrant a suspension.

    I was at the game and sitting where collision took place, my view at time was both players were bumping each other/jostling for position prior to the final collision which i thought was very dangerous for both players due to the high speed both were running at. It reminded me of a nascar race type situation. I have seen similar bumping before at many other soccer games, but never one at this rate of speed.

    Will have to look at the TV tape to see how it looked on TV and from the other side of the field.
     
  13. chinadaiyi

    chinadaiyi Member

    Sep 11, 2008
    China
    Club:
    SS Lazio Roma
    Nat'l Team:
    China PR
    abby is just a soccer player ,and Marta is a star in usa ,isn't it?
     
  14. Mkat

    Mkat New Member

    Jan 15, 2009
    Club:
    Washington Freedom
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Me too.
     

Share This Page