Will FC New York become the New York Cosmos?

Discussion in 'F.C. New York' started by ukfootballfan101, Apr 17, 2009.

1. ukfootballfan101

ukfootballfan101 New Member

Mar 18, 2009
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    Hi, I'm a football fan from england (do you enlightened few call it soccer or football btw?), i'm new to USL/MLS but have been reading the big soccer USA section with interest.

I hope the game really takes off in the USA and becomes one of the "big sports".

Anyway from some of the stuff i've been read (wikipedia) I understand FC New York might become in the New York Cosmos? Is that right?

The Cosmos is one probabaly the most famous team in USA soccer history so it would be great if they were playing again.

If they became a seperate team do you think New York could support three teams?! That would be amazing IMO for soccer to be a success the MLS and USL have to begin working together and maybe even merge, taking the best bits from both.

And if there were three well supported teams in New York I think that would be huge!!!!

2. kenntomasch

kenntomasch Member+

Sep 2, 1999
    Out West
    Club:
    FC Tampa Bay Rowdies
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Welcome.

Unlikely.

Wikipedia is notoriously unreliable.

But at the moment, FCNY's wikipedia page doesn't say anything about it.

The name Cosmos gives some people in the NY area a big blue veiner. No matter how ridiculous it is to think that a new team with that name could live up to what the original team accomplished.

I wouldn't count on it.

3. ukfootballfan101

Mar 18, 2009
    Club:
    Liverpool FC
    I know what you mean about wikipedia!

I had another look at the page (thanks for posting the link) and someone has removed the clubs nicknames (have a look at the last version on the history tab), they were "Cosmos" and "The Peoples Club" - I hope that means David Moyes is going to be the 1st manager! :D