Why isn't Bob playing Adu/Torres?

Discussion in 'USA Men' started by EastBayGrease, Jun 21, 2009.

1. EastBayGrease

EastBayGrease Member

Mar 1, 2005
    Santa Clara
    Club:
    San Jose Earthquakes
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I'm genuinely curious as to why Bradley isn't giving Adu/Torres any PT?

I'm not dumb enough to think that Bradley doesn't recognize their offensive ability, nor do i think that Bradley is a bonehead (I for one, can't say I have a degree from Princeton, let alone years of professional coaching experience.... and he clearly taught his son how to play soccer well).

So what is his logic?

I think Bradley recognizes their offensive talent, but finds their height too big a liability on the defensive end*. If Donovan weren't on the field, I think Adu and Torres would be in, but LD is guaranteed a spot. I think Bradley subscribes to the idea that you can't field more than one short midfielder because it is too much of a defensive liability when it comes to set pieces.

I think this why Dempsey stays on despite his poor possession... because he wins balls in the air on both sides of the field.

That's my best guess.

*I'm not arguing short players shouldn't play. I love the play of Messi, Ortega, etc as much as the next soccer fan. I'm just doing my best to pick Bradley's brain*

2. Prime Time

Prime Time Member

May 1, 2004
    South Florida
    So you're questioning Bob Bradley's decisions after what the team just pulled off? Genius. :rolleyes:

3. i giallorossi

i giallorossi Member

Jun 17, 2009
    Club:
    AS Roma
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    He's not bringing on Adu because "he needs to get more club caps" or some BS. Didn't seem to matter when he put Beasley in, but whatever...

Your guess is as good as mine as to why Torres isn't playing, but I think he's hanging on to some bad memory of Costa Rica or something. I honestly can't explain that one. It's dumb whatever it is.

4. judodono

judodono Member

Jun 14, 2005