Where have all the Adu fan boys gone?

Discussion in 'USA Men' started by benni..., Jul 2, 2005.

1. benni...

benni... BigSoccer Supporter

Nov 23, 2004
    Chocolate City
    There were a lot of them before the WYC, now i havent seen one at all.
    Serious question.

Now the real question is what does Freddy need to work on, for him to have better play than he did at the WYC?

2. Hustletown

Hustletown New Member

Mar 12, 2005
    Houston, Texas
    Right here. Just trying to give the guy some space to play with DC United and round back into club form.

As far as things to work on...I'm no expert but based on what I've seen I'd say...

-Continue to develop overall strength. Of course, he's only 16 so he has a ways to go before he peaks from a strength point of view.

- It'd probably also help if he'd get to play his best positions more often than not (as opposed to being stuck out on a wing).

- Keep improving that in-game vision. Freddy has made some outstanding plays for DC United in his limited time so far this year, so that tells me he really is on his way to becoming an all-around team player.

- Considering his position/tactical responsibilities in the WYC, I don't think people should read as much into his WYC performance as they are. It was a really weird role to see Freddy play. He would have been better off playing up top with Barrett or Ochoa or as a central attacker with Gaven flanking him on the right.

I seem to be in a pretty large minority when I claim that Gaven and Adu each only had one bad overall game. Gaven's was Argentina and Freddy's was Italy. Again, just my opinion.

3. benni...

Nov 23, 2004
    Chocolate City
    I just think he is being more conservative than usual. The game against Columbus tonight, he did nothing. No runs, no set ups, no nothing. Just passing the ball, not really doing what made everyone call him the Next Pele (even though thats Ridiculous)

4. DutchFootballRulez

Jul 15, 2003
    Baltimore, MD
    Club: