WeightLifting (legs in particular)

Discussion in 'Player' started by Austinite, Jan 4, 2006.

1. Austinite

Austinite New Member

Jun 17, 2002
    Austin,TX
    I just started playing in a indoor league. I played off/on last couple years, but didn't get into it as much until recently. My endurance isn't that bad. I want to get a little more competitive and build my endurance. I work out regulary, but I don't do too much lifting w/ my legs. Should I start working out my legs (hamstring) more?

2. benito camelpene

May 31, 2003
    miami
    If you're going to lift weights to build up your legs than just be sure to dedicate equal time and effort to working out your thighs, hamstrings and calves. If you solely work out your hamstrings then it might lead to thigh strains(tears) because your hamstrings are going to be much stronger than your thighs.

I myself workout my legs but with relatively light weight. I have muscular legs that I attribute more to running on the beach 2-3 times a week than to lifting weights at the gym.

3. Austinite

Austinite New Member

Jun 17, 2002
    Austin,TX
    This might be a dumb question...but what are advantages/disadvantages of working out the legs? Does it help out w/ kick power/accuracy/less risk of injury/endurance, etc...?

4. servotron

servotron New Member

Mar 4, 2004
    St Paul, MN
    It will help you kick harder, jump higher, and run faster... so yes it will help you in soccer.

Your risk of injury will also decrease if your muscles (and your tendons, ligaments, etc) are strengthened.