UNC 2020

Discussion in 'Women's College' started by uncchamps2012, Dec 9, 2019.

1. uncchamps2012

uncchamps2012 Member

Jul 9, 2011
    UNC returns 9 starters, though one of those is Emily Fox, so hopefully she will be able to play next fall. This should be another extremely strong team. Perhaps 2020 is the year? I haven't check to see who Stanford loses.

2. derbarkasmann

derbarkasmann Member

1.FC Koeln (Cologne, Germany)
    United States
    Oct 27, 2008
    Grand Junction, Colorado
    Club:
    FC Köln
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    Not many. And they have the usual strong freshman class coming in. They might be better next year than this one.

3. Soccerhunter

Soccerhunter Member+

Sep 12, 2009
    I have been saying for years that 2020 will be UNC's strongest team in a long while. Buit I get potentially 10 players returning as Bridgette is the only true senior starter in 2019. (Taylor Otto is a redshirt junior in 2019. She might get her diploma this spring and come back as a graduate student next fall for her 4th season with the Heels. Anson had mused publicly that she could go pro this spring, but I have heard that she might very well want another college season.)

On the other hand, I would not be surprised if Emily did not come back next year. She really has hear heart set on being on the US women's national team and with the same knee ACL tear she might not want to jeopardize her self with a possible career ending third ACL tear in college (rather on the US senior team on which she already has three three caps & 2 starts). The normal healing time for an ACL used to be a year (which would put her beyond next season) but it is now more common to see players back after 9-10 months. Emily came back to play for the U20 team in June of 2018 after only 8 months...she was really motivated. So we shall see.....