Two Legs to Stand On

Discussion in 'Statistics and Analysis' started by kenntomasch, Oct 29, 2003.

1. kenntomasch

kenntomasch Member+

Sep 2, 1999
    Out West
    Club:
    FC Tampa Bay Rowdies
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    MLS, as many of you know, is trying (more or less) the traditional two-legged playoff system this year for the first time. This has led to much debate about who truly has the advantage in a two-legged scenario, whether you'd rather have the first game at home or the second game at home.

A few years ago, I studied the Champions League and UEFA Cup competitions and found that whether a team hosted the first or second leg made virtually no difference to their chances of advancing in the tournament. I don't have those numbers on me as I type this, but it was so close to .500 either way, it was scary.

Now that the A-League has had two legs in its playoffs for a few years, I re-ran the numbers and found that, in this very limited sample at least, there was a good-sized advantage to having the second game at home.

The A-League went to two legs in its conference semifinals and conference finals in 2000, then went to two legs for its entire playoffs (except the one-off Final) in 2001. So we're looking at four years worth of data (which isn't much, admittedly).

Anyway, there have been 32 two-legged ties in that period. The Game 1 host has advanced 12 times out of 32 (37.5%). The Game 2 host has advanced 20 times out of 32 (62.5%).

This despite the fact the W-L-T percentages of home teams in either leg were fairly consistent (16-8-8 for First Leg home teams, 15-10-7 for Second Leg home teams).

I believe (someone check me if I'm wrong), that in the A-League, the higher seed has the choice of hosting the first or second leg, while in MLS, the higher seed automatically gets the second leg. This could skew the results a bit, I would think.