The Official: Let's Vent at our Referees

Discussion in 'Referee' started by empennage, Oct 5, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. empennage

empennage Member

Jan 4, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm a coach of a U14 team and this is what happened today during my game. One of my players was pushed off the ball, and the whistle was rightfully blown. The play and ball were inside the penalty area, but the referee decided to give an indirect free kick instead. So I bitch and moan for a minute or so until I realize he's not going to award the PK and shut up. To me the issue had passed, but at the end of the game he comes up to me and tries to explain why it wasn't a PK. I said, "Well if you called a penal foul (pushing) and it's inside the penalty area then it's a penalty kick". He said no it's in IDK. :eek:

Anyway, post your idiotic referee decisions here in this thread. We should get some good stories out of it.

2. Statesman

Statesman New Member

Sep 16, 2001
    The name says it all
    Yeah, let's all trash referees in a referee forum.

Or not.

3. IASocFan

IASocFan Moderator
    Staff Member

Aug 13, 2000
    IOWA
    Club:
    Sporting Kansas City
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    All of us as coaches and players have run into some bizarre referee calls. We also seen more than our share of dumb player and coach tricks, too. We're human. Some us have a better clue what's going on. Some are just roped into positions they don't belong. :)

4. empennage

empennage Member

Jan 4, 2001
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm I ref too, I just think it's fun to talk trash. I'll bet if people post their stories, we can get some good ones.

5. gkeck

gkeck Member

Apr 5, 2002
    Southern California