The Day After

Discussion in 'Movies, TV and Music' started by BillQ, Jul 1, 2005.

1. BillQ

BillQ New Member

Oct 11, 1999
    Chicago, IL
    TV Land has been showing a slew of Movie of the Week this week. Last night, they showed the 1983 movie "The Day After," which showed the US being destroyed by a Soviet nuclear attack.

In a lot of ways, the movie looks a bit dated (Steve Guttenberg was one of the main actors). But, it still is a pretty powerful movie, especially when the nukes start going off and we see the various characters start to get sick from the fallout from the bombs. The one scene that always gave the the shivers was when the Soviets set off a city-buster bomb over Kansas City. That still haunts me.

Anyone else have any opinions about this movie?

2. Claymore

Claymore Member

Jul 9, 2000
    Montgomery Vlg, MD
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    This aired when I was a freshman in college. The whole school was a little shaken up afterwards, probably because we realized that Dover AFB was only about 40 miles or so from campus, and that we may as well have a rooftop BBQ if the missles ever really flew.

3. BillQ

BillQ New Member

Oct 11, 1999
    Chicago, IL
    I only saw it a couple of years after the fact. My mom, not wanting to get upset, forced us all out to dinner that night. ABC re-ran the movie in '89 and I couldn't sleep for a couple of nights after ward.

4. writered21

writered21 Member+

Jul 14, 2001
    Middle of the Road
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States
    I remember seeing it when it came out (I think it was then, not the re-air. As a kid, it was pretty disturbing.

Actually had a pretty decent cast. Lots of info here:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0085404/

5. writered21

writered21 Member+

Jul 14, 2001
    Middle of the Road
    Club:
    DC United
    Nat'l Team:
    United States